Thank you for this time, BK Häcken!

2016-10-17

 My time at the club was only a year, but the place in my heart remains.

My time at the club was only a year, but the place in my heart remains.

As some of you already know, it became official this weekend – I leave BK Häcken women’s team. My period at the club became only one year.

Of course it is a sad decision, however, it is a decision that has evolved over time. As usual, it is not a single reason that made me come to this point, but I will try to summarize the reasons as clearly and simply as possible.

First and foremost, I want to clarify that there is no schism between me and BK Häcken. We have throughout the year had a good dialogue and tried to find a common ground to extend my contract. Unfortunately, the club and I wanted different things.

We have made tremendous strides in our development, a year ago hardly anyone knew about BK Häcken women’s team, now it is commonly known. When I came here for less than a year ago, we had 15 players in the squad in total, three of which were long-term injuries. Now, the squad holds over 30 players. So even if the results could have been better, we have been in a construction stage that has taken more time than we anticipated. Now there is a good foundation to stand on.

I wanted to invest even more in the women’s team and bring them into the elite divisons, something that the club also wanted aswell, but the board wanted to take it a little more slow than me. I wanted to speed things up, they wanted to take it easy. There is no trouble in that, I understand them fully and respect it even if I disagree with them.

While it is of course sad, I do not regret my time at the club. It has been an incredibly rewarding year where I especially understood the importance of social interaction between players. Unfortunately, I underestimated it during the year, which resulted in some conflicts that worried the team as a whole. There were many new players in a short time, we more than doubled the squad numbers in just a few months. Naturally, this affected the result.

Another thing I analysed wrongly was our own ability to attack. Unfortunately we had not enough skilled player types to solve the complex gaming system, and I should have realized that earlier. Once I adjusted the idea of the game to be a bit more cynical, results also came at the end of the season. We had a more points than last year, scored more goals and conceded fewer. Although hopes for greater investment was not realized, it was an improvement over the year before.

However, I am both proud and happy about my year as Head Coach of BK Häcken. My greatest achievement is that I put the women’s team on the map. Before this year, barely anyone knew  that the club had a women’s team, now it’s like I said widely known. The seriousness within the squad has also increased. Now it is a much more professional bunch available on site who wants something with their football. It is a great foundation for the next coach to get into.

During my time as Head Coach of BK Häcken, there were people that meant much to me. First and foremost my Assistant Coach Erika Faith, who was the one who took me to the club in the first place. She’s also been a good friend when we discussed everything from training schedules to leadership. She will go far in her coaching career.

I also want to thank Anders Wahrnberg, who was my boss. He let me basically have free hands when it came to building the team. Other people in the staff, as goalkeeper coach Mats Pervik and physio Seppo Koskimies has been extremely valuable for our cause. The office, with Karro and Richard, have set up with everything from laundry to player registrations. For that I owe you big time.

Finally, a big thank you to the squad, which has been both ambitious and a great team to work with. It will be incredibly interesting to see how next season unfolds for them.

Me and BK Häcken are not separated like enemies, but as friends. There is no farewell, but see you later.

What comes now, then? 

Well, as you probably have noticed, almost everything on the website is in English. I have over the past year prompted many foreign visitors on the website, ordinary readers as well as clubs and sports managers abroad, who wanted an English version. It would be a bit too much work to maintain the website in both Swedish and English, so that is why the website from now will be in English.

Regarding my coaching career, I will be incredibly selective about what I undertake. If I should jump on a head coaching assignment next year there must be a sporting ambition that is exciting, a clear and well-structured organization around the team and the club, and economic tools that enables the vision.

I will not be actively running around and chasing jobs, maybe I will put up an ad on this website, but I will be careful with what I’m giving myself into.

If nothing interesting will emerge in 2017, I will spend time with my family, but also do some freelance work. Lectures may be necessary while I go in as an instructor somewhere where I can coach the players on my terms. This is to keep the coach muscle alive, for coaching is just like a muscle – If you do not practice the muscle will get weaker.

The blog is bound to live even in 2017, so nothing to worry about there. Perhaps it will be more posts as long as I am unemployed.

Stay tuned! 

Leave a Reply

